The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How to leave your awesome barn without burning bridges?

I'll start with this- I LOVE my barn, I have since the day I moved in 4 years ago

But in the past 4 years, things have changed-namely, I graduated and moved slightly farther away (which I will do again, in about 3 months). I used to be a quick 30 mins from my pony, with time out the wazoo to spend with him. Now I am 45 mins away from home and at least an hour from work, so I only have weekends. In 3 months I will be over an hour away (but a quick 4 exits from work!!).

The travel, on top of my darling horse not getting any younger, has led me to look at other facilities (which made me sad to begin with ) but darling horse hasn't been ridden more than 3x since Novemeber due to rainy season/ BLACK MUD.

I have found a place that included in board is 2x/week rides or lessons, which means darling horse could be ridden 4x/week because there is NO BLACK MUD! It's still 45 mins away, but only 35 mins from work.

So, my real question is- how do I break it to BO that I am leaving? I may in the future want to move back, but I don't want to burn any bridges!

I love this place, tons of open space and RIDICULOUSLY cheap board (like 1/4 of the new place), and overall friendly people.

But I love my horsey more, and selfishly want to see him more and have him stay in better shape (there's also the insurance factor- horse is in better shape => going to shows => results => happier insurance company willing to insure my almost 18 yo for what we bought him for as a 9 yo still...)

Any advice on how to leave but keep the door open to come back in the future (possibly)? Thanks!

between the mountains and the sea, North Carolina