The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results
 
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan. 25, 2004
    Location
    Milton, Ontario
    Posts
    1,434

    Default Cameras Again

    I'd like to set up a camera in my mare's stall but I can't get internet in my barn and my house is 300-400 feet away.
    I saw a wireless option here:
    http://www.livestockcameras.com/products/1474.html

    I wondered if you all know of something cheaper that will work similarly or if I can get one used somewhere.
    Thanks for your help!



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan. 2, 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,189

    Default

    If you have internet at the house, you can set up a computer in the barn with a booster areal that *will* pick up the wifi - I use the Bearextender for mine.



  3. #3

    Default Alternative barn cam

    I once put a video cam recorder in the barn and hooked it up to a VCR in the barn and then ran the cable to the TV in my Bedroom. It was only about 150 feet away. It worked great. It was in color and had great sound.

    I remember Elaine and I debating on who's turn it was to stay awake when suddenly our mares water broke. Elaine was so quick getting to the barn that I saw her on the TV before I left the house.

    I just had all that equipment sitting around the house and it worked perfectly. Good luck.
    -Arthur



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar. 28, 2006
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    3,373

    Default

    If you don't need it to be online, and can just watch it on a TV, I have this camera and love it ten times more than my wireless internet camera. The picture quality is GREAT, and it's only ever frozen one time. I really, really like it: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    Family Partners Welsh Ponies - Home of Section B Welsh stallion *Wedderlie Mardi Gras LOM/AOE http://www.welshponies.com
    Click here to buy: A Guide To In Hand Showing of Your Welsh Pony


    2 members found this post helpful.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May. 25, 2005
    Location
    best place so far
    Posts
    1,179

    Default

    I ran a cable from my barn to my home so I could get my camera online via marestare. My barn is about 300ft from my house and the cable has been in place for a few years with no problem. The first year I used a wireless camera hookup that worked OK but the image was not as clear as the hardwired one I have now.

    I bought all my stuff from here:

    http://www.foalingcamera.com
    Read about my time at the Hannoveraner Verband Breeders Courses:
    http://blumefarm.com/hannoveranercourse2011.html
    http://blumefarm.com/hannoveranercourse2012.html


    1 members found this post helpful.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan. 25, 2004
    Location
    Milton, Ontario
    Posts
    1,434

    Default

    Rideagoldenpony did you buy that kit and that's all you needed? I'm about 400 feet from the barn to my house. It says 1000 so it should work.



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan. 25, 2004
    Location
    Milton, Ontario
    Posts
    1,434

    Default

    Did you just run the cable on the ground to your house?

    Quote Originally Posted by Blume Farm View Post
    I ran a cable from my barn to my home so I could get my camera online via marestare. My barn is about 300ft from my house and the cable has been in place for a few years with no problem. The first year I used a wireless camera hookup that worked OK but the image was not as clear as the hardwired one I have now.

    I bought all my stuff from here:

    http://www.foalingcamera.com



  8. #8
    Join Date
    May. 25, 2005
    Location
    best place so far
    Posts
    1,179

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hony View Post
    Did you just run the cable on the ground to your house?
    Yes...the cable is hung out my window (they have a special attachment to the cable that is flat so the window can be closed on that part of the cable) , then through some trees limbs and finally tacked down to fence rails until it reaches the barn Very ghetto, but it works!
    Read about my time at the Hannoveraner Verband Breeders Courses:
    http://blumefarm.com/hannoveranercourse2011.html
    http://blumefarm.com/hannoveranercourse2012.html



  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan. 25, 2004
    Location
    Milton, Ontario
    Posts
    1,434

    Default

    Mine would need to go around my house, through a wooded ravine, along my outdoor ring fence into the back of the barn.. It'll be totally ghetto too lol.

    Quote Originally Posted by Blume Farm View Post
    Yes...the cable is hung out my window (they have a special attachment to the cable that is flat so the window can be closed on that part of the cable) , then through some trees limbs and finally tacked down to fence rails until it reaches the barn Very ghetto, but it works!



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar. 11, 1999
    Location
    Clayton, CA USA
    Posts
    4,919

    Default

    We are about 400 ft. from our barn and tried wireless, but it didn't work, as there are trees in the line of sight, and our house is a little lower than the barn. We have a wired camera. We strung coax cable through the trees from our barn to the house and have it hooked up to a t.v. in our bedroom. It works really well. Our wi fi is spotty, and internet connection is satellite, so we haven't ever tried to have a computer hookup with it.
    Mystic Owl Sporthorses
    www.mysticowlsporthorses.com



  11. #11
    Join Date
    May. 25, 2005
    Location
    best place so far
    Posts
    1,179

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clint View Post
    We are about 400 ft. from our barn and tried wireless, but it didn't work, as there are trees in the line of sight, and our house is a little lower than the barn. We have a wired camera. We strung coax cable through the trees from our barn to the house and have it hooked up to a t.v. in our bedroom. It works really well. Our wi fi is spotty, and internet connection is satellite, so we haven't ever tried to have a computer hookup with it.
    Sounds like everyone is doing the "ghetto" setup!! I too tried wireless and have a pretty clear line of sight. However, if it rained, the wind was blowing, etc the signal would get jumpy. After one year of suffering with that I went with the hardwired route. The image is crystal clear, color, infrared for night vision and has sound. When I am home I put the cable in my tv and when I leave I hook it up to an older computer I have dedicated to marestare hookup.
    Read about my time at the Hannoveraner Verband Breeders Courses:
    http://blumefarm.com/hannoveranercourse2011.html
    http://blumefarm.com/hannoveranercourse2012.html



  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar. 12, 2006
    Location
    Western South Dakota
    Posts
    2,447

    Default

    I too, went ghetto to get a camera in the barn, for earlier foalings. Normally we foal in a run-in shed 50' from my house so the wired camera was perfect. Since I already had a good security camera that I think only cost about $100, I decided to use it instead of trying to go wireless. I have about 600' of cable just laying on the ground that I unhook and move out of the way if we have to drive through there as I figure driving over it can't be good for it. The picture is very good and the cable on the ground isn't a big deal.

    I got my security cameras from our local electronic supply store and they were not expensive. One is a Pro Video - CVC-1700 and the one I put in the barn is a bullet type camera. I don't remember what brand.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct. 27, 2009
    Location
    Petaluma
    Posts
    207

    Default

    So I worked on this problem for EVER and found the following to work for me- my barn is about 5 football fields from the house... No wireless there....

    What I have set up is the Logitech Alert Outdoor system which runs through the electricity in my barn to a computer there set up with GoToMyPC. I have the GoToMyPC app on my phone and iPad so I can remotely access the barn computer.

    However- if your barn is on the same electrical circuit as your house the Logitech camera will work at your house through the electricity... It is pretty cool and works quite well. The system actually takes up to 6 cameras if you need them and can stream sound if you want it.
    www.jazcreek.com
    Specialized Equine Rehabilitation and Fitness in the Wine Country



  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb. 21, 2005
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    43

    Default

    I also am several hundred feet from the barn. What I ended up doing was putting a computer in the barn and got a wireless stick from Virgin Mobile - they have unlimited data streaming for $50 a month. Because the computer was in the barn, I was able to use a very inexpensive webcam wired to that computer, so the quality of the video was quite good.



  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov. 28, 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    10,435

    Default

    I am also a couple of hundred feet from the house to the barn and have a line of trees between the house and the barn,and in the past that has interfered with wireless.
    I was hoping that wireless had advanced a bit and that I could switch to that now,and read this thread with hope rising in my heart...

    What I do have is the 'trailer park' version as well. A long cable wire from the house to the barn, that comes in through the bedroom window to a designated TV.
    It works well, but the cable has been driven over by the lawn guy a couple of times.
    They never survive the week whacker.
    A FINE ROMANCE - JC Reg Thoroughbred - GOLD Premium CSHA - ISR/OLDNA Approved
    CSHA Brickenden Stallion Award Winner - for Performance offspring.
    Please visit A Fine Romance on FB!



  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr. 2, 2011
    Posts
    906

    Default

    We ran a cat5 wire to the barn and setup a wireless router. Super simple and we have wifi in the barn. Get the direct burial wire and it only needs to be a couple of inches in the ground.



  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jun. 7, 2010
    Posts
    36

    Default Booster for wireless

    Our barn is about 200 feet from the house so the wireless signal was weak, initially. We use Macs so went to the Apple store after discussing options, purchased a strong booster that is in the tackroom and has no trouble reaching throughout the barn and vicinity. Image quality is excellent and no "drops". The added bonus has been creating an office in the tackroom where we can do work (which requires internet) and be close by. Camera system is Samsung purchased from CostCo, able to view all eight camera angles remotely on iphone or ipad.



  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar. 28, 2006
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    3,373

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hony View Post
    Rideagoldenpony did you buy that kit and that's all you needed? I'm about 400 feet from the barn to my house. It says 1000 so it should work.
    Yes, I bought that, went out to the barn, put up the camera, walked in the house, plugged in receiver, plugged it into the TV and it was instantly ready to go. Easiest thing I've ever set up.

    The barn is 300-400 feet away from the house, but there is a direct line of sight.

    The picture quality is absolutely outstanding!!!
    Family Partners Welsh Ponies - Home of Section B Welsh stallion *Wedderlie Mardi Gras LOM/AOE http://www.welshponies.com
    Click here to buy: A Guide To In Hand Showing of Your Welsh Pony



  19. #19
    Join Date
    Nov. 28, 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    10,435

    Default

    Has anyone had any experience with this system?
    http://www.barncam.com/store/catalog...ne-barn-2.html
    A FINE ROMANCE - JC Reg Thoroughbred - GOLD Premium CSHA - ISR/OLDNA Approved
    CSHA Brickenden Stallion Award Winner - for Performance offspring.
    Please visit A Fine Romance on FB!



Similar Threads

  1. Cameras
    By Anteup in forum Off Course
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: Dec. 29, 2012, 07:32 PM
  2. Wireless Network Cameras as Foaling Cameras
    By K~2 in forum Sport Horse Breeding
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Oct. 27, 2011, 12:13 PM
  3. flip cameras,cameras and cellphones.
    By Tiffany01 in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Aug. 16, 2011, 06:13 PM
  4. CAMERAS
    By RU2U in forum Driving
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jul. 24, 2010, 11:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
randomness