The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Honest Opinions of my TB, Please

Update: I've decided to keep and work with him. His videos are no longer up. Thank you to everyone who responded! I really appreciate the advice.

--------------
    I'm an advanced beginner with about eight months of lessons under my belt coming off a several month knee and back injury that has kept me out of the saddle. I had previously decided to sell my horse not knowing how long it would take me to heal, but it looks like I'll be able to return to normal activity within a few weeks.

This has led me to question selling my horse. He's a lovely, sensitive, six year old Thoroughbred who is quite green. I bought him for just $600. Now I'm considering keeping him and investing in some serious training. I'm looking at Eric Dierks as I think his approach would suit my boy well. My main question is if the money would be well invested. I have no idea what to look for when I look at a horse for the mostpart.

These are videos of my former training as she is helping me to sell him. He had not been worked in several months:

His walk- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aEXusiGX2x0
    His trot- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eiYoMGh6hj4
    His canter- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QyIg_hHXjsM

(I feel it's necessary to note I would of course reimburse her for her time if I choose not to sell.)

I don't have any videos of his jump but we have jumped to about three feet and he seems to take to it well.

So, what do you think? I'm not looking to ride in the Rolex or anything, but I would like to explore eventing.
    Last edited by lferguson; Feb. 26, 2013 at 11:23 AM. Reason: update