The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Exclamation Buying used Monacos?

So, a friend of a friend is selling her monacos, in my size, used for a little over 1/4 of the regular price. I've seen pictures, they have regular wear around the ankle (crease) but no holes, and the inside panel doesn't appear to be worn to great extent.

I would probably be riding in these 1-2 times a week. (1 show occasionally, and one lesson a week.) I understand that they're fragile, and am perfectly fine with oiling and/or cleaning them every time after I ride

My only concern is... I've heard so many bad things about Ariats, but also a lot of good from friends etc. my question is, will they hold up for this wear? Especially after already been used? I'm a student and spending $300 on something is a lot for me.

Mine have endured 3 full show seasons (just summer...about 14 shows) and weekly lessons (and sometimes daily riding on 2+ horses). No issues whatsoever.

I dont find them to be more fragile than any other soft leather boot.

I have a pair of Ariat Challenge (the old ones...10 years old or so) that are thick leather and they are hardy! Just today part of the zipper broke, but after 10 years of regular use I cant complain...its still functional, just the tab broke off so I replaced it with binder twine I ride in these as "daily" boots, and save the monoco's for summer riding and showing.

2 members found this post helpful.

Quote Originally Posted by SquishTheBunny View Post
    Mine have endured 3 full show seasons (just summer...about 14 shows) and weekly lessons (and sometimes daily riding on 2+ horses). No issues whatsoever.