The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Spin-off from grades: Ever have yo' mamma call your college?

The Chronicle of Higher Education (trade journal for that industry) has published a few articles that claim parents are calling up profs to run interference for their kids.

Fer realz?

A) Have you done that-- as parent or the kid?

B) What do you think about it?

Please help me understand because it was not part of my experience growing up. And I'm afraid that as a prof who got this first call, I could only ask "Fer realz?" and sound like an idiot before I revved up the (totally inappropriate) rant machine.
    The armchair saddler
    Politically Pro-Cat

Oh hell no. I never had a parent get involved in ANYTHING school related from the time I was a sophomore in high school on. I'm an adult. I can handle it, especially in college. If you're in any sort of higher education, it should be expected that you don't need mommy or daddy to take care of things for you. I won't do it for my children either. Ridiculous.

Though it does remind me of the lady who recently posted on my university's facebook wall.....talking about how great her son is and how "YOU'D THINK" a school like ours would be falling all over him and "HOW DARE THEY" not respond to his application in a timely fashion.
    Sweetie, we currently have 40,000+ students on campus, thousands applying and very large classes.....give them more than a couple weeks to process your precious spawn's application.
    To be loved by a horse should fill us with awe, for we hath not deserved it.