The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default ARGHHH.....or why I hate Paypal and ?s

So I have been searching for a specific saddle since Nov. I was very excited I finally found it on ebay and got a great deal on it! I won it on Wednesday night. I worked as a server and have interesting hours. I tried to pay for it last night. The website would not take my payment, so I called them this morning. I have spent 2 hours trying to pay for the saddle. I am trying hard not to scream at the customer service people because it is not their fault.

Basically because it is a larger amount and I have not used paypal in at least 2 years, they have to verify my account. It can take at least 3 to 5 business day to verify it. I am pissed because i am sure the seller wants their money!!!!!!!! I just want to pay for the saddle. Why can they not be like every other website and just take the stupid credit card!!!!!

My backup plan is to the use the BillMeLater feature and just pays them off as soon as my account is verify so the seller gets their money. Has anyone ever used that feature before?

I know it can be frustrating, but Paypal's carefulness is one of the reasons that sellers like to rely on it. If you email the seller directly and let them know the reason for the delay, I'm sure they will understand.

3 members found this post helpful.

Yes, BML is a good thing. To 'verify' the PayPal account means they want a bank account on the PP account, not just a CC. That supposedly is a security feature, and of course when you hava bank + CC on file, you also get access to using your bank account for funding purchases. Curiosity is killing me, what saddle make and model is it that you were so happy to find?
    Jeanie