The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Thumbs up Some Phone Calls Are Holy

http://www.chronofhorse.com/article/...calls-are-holy

Loved it!

Anyone have some good starstruck stories?
    "Things turn out best for the people who make the best of the way things turn out." ~John Wooden

Phoenix Animal Rescue

I laughed all the way through that article! I was a COTH intern in 2006 and I vividly remember having to approach Katie Huber, Sandy Ferrell, Kenny Wheeler and Katie Prudent my first week. At Upperville! I remember calling my mom on a lunch break a few weeks later, squealing, "I just called Karen O'Connor!" and she didn't believe me. And I remember trying to read/type up George's articles that he'd hand-write and fax in (all the while thinking, "Whatever you do, do NOT screw up GEORGE's article!"). No, George doesn't email! LOL Great stories now, but definitely a bit nerve-wracking at the time.
    "Radar, the man's ex-cavalry: if he sees four flies having a meeting, he knows they're talking about a horse!" Cptn. BJ Hunnicutt, M*A*S*H Season 4, Episode "Dear Mildred"

1 members found this post helpful.

I love it.

I remember once, as a kid, riding my pony back to the tents at a show after an early morning hack. Laura Kraut was riding back the same direction and she started making small talk to me as we headed back. I was so star-struck. SHE was talking to ME.