The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Dyscalculia/math processing disorders/anybody else?

I'm a college student. Today I had a math exam. I spent 8 hours studying for it today alone. I cannot possibly have gotten more than a 50% on it.

This isn't new. I've had trouble with remembering mathematical formulae since I was a kid. It took me a long time to memorize my times tables. Remembering equations, and remembering when to use what when, has always been a problem. In middle and high school I was generally sorted into GT or honors math classes along with my GT language classes, but I never managed a grade above a C. I am in my 20's and I still turn left when someone tells me to go right. If you want me to turn left, point the way you want me to go. I routinely forget to carry numbers or flip signs. Don't ask me to remember your phone number- if you tell me it's 833, I'll write it down 838 or 338 or 388 and you'll have to really rub my nose in it before I notice it's wrong. (I only know what I'm typing now because 3 is on the other side of the keyboard.)

I've suspected since middle school that something isn't quite 'right' with however I'm processing mathematical information. Not necessarily arithmetic- I can add, subtract, multiply, and divide- but mathematical applications. But I've always been "too smart" to have something wrong so I'm not working hard enough. I am smart. My language abilities are great. I scored an 800 on the writing portion of the SATs and a 770 on whatever you call the non-writing-but-still-English-language-related section. I'm a reasonably competent programmer, as long as I remember that the { key is on that side of the } key, so { is the one I use first. You can hand me a brain and I can label and dissect it for you. Maybe I should start saying y = m(Broca's area) + b instead of x.