The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How many of you had to give up riding...

...but came back to it later in life?

I'm at a point in my life where everything is just going to get busier and my riding time is slipping away. I'm a full time student, work part time, chairperson of a premed chapter at my university, etc. and lately I've only been able to squeeze in two days of riding a week, (though I usually get to ride 4+ horses per time). I'm applying to medical/grad schools this June and will be working in a biomedical research lab full time, out of state, all summer. I've been very fortunate to have the opportunity to ride while in college; however, I feel that time is coming to an end.

So my question is, if you took a riding hiatus, did you ever make it back like you planned to? If you have a professional career, how long did it take you to be able to start riding again?

I've had to quit riding several times throughout my life (for various reasons) and I have always seemed to come back to it. Most recently, while I was finishing university and getting started in my career, riding was just not feasible. Once I was a little more established, I found it relatively simple to carve out the time and, just as importantly, fund riding. All said, it took me about 9 months after I started my career to get started again.
    ~ In the chaos of the showing, remember riding should be fun for all, including our 4-legged kids.

I took off 16 years between late HS (needed to focus on studies to get college scholarships) + college + residency training + 1st job where the hours were quite long and was living in a big city. I always knew my goal was to get back to riding but at times it was very painful/sad to want something so badly that I just couldn't make happen at the time. It makes it all the more sweet now that it is part of my life again.