The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default "Alternative" healing - what have you tried?

I was in a serious car accident a long time ago. After, I saw a chiropractor. Gave it up because some of the crunching alarmed me. A few years later, tried again. Gave up for same reason. Also was not entirely sure I was receiving any benefit.

But the injured shoulder has always bothered me and more so lately. Meanwhile, a coworker talked up someone she sees. I figured "what the heck." It's different from previous experiences in that so far, there has been no spinal manipulation whatsoever. It's far more akin to massage therapy and physical therapy. And, it seems to be working. (It's called the Graston technique.)

Since I started riding, instructors have been yelling at me about my right shoulder (which tended to curl forward). This past weekend (after 3 weeks of treatment), my instructor.... started harping on my left shoulder. (Brought this to the attention of the therapist this week and she's working to bring my left into better alignment.)

At any rate, curious what other people have tried, and what success they've had.

Also, good exercise for all of those out there who need better posture. Whenever you're sitting down (and not doing something with your hands) place one hand over the other, palms up. The back of your left hand rests on your lap, the back of the right hand rests on the palm of the left hand (or vice versa, whichever way is more comfortable for you). Automatically opens up your posture.

I don't consider massage/chiropractor/physical therapy particularly "alternative?"