The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Transitioning to Hunting

Im pretty new to COTH, and to fox hunting.

I grew up always wanting to be a trainer/instructor and doing schooling show hunters, riding OTTBs ect, however trying to get into hunters professionally at a level above schooling shows/ 4H without A circuit experience or connections seems impossible...

then a friend took me fox hunting! Most fun I have ever had in my life! I was hooked and even ditched my family on Thanksgiving to go hunting since my work schedule conflicted with all the other hunts.

I have heard some hunts have paid positions, and started thinking how nice it would be to drop the at times high schoolish, snobby, drama of the horse show world.

So I have been debating trying to transition from instructing/training to working with a hunt

So how does one make the transition to working for a hunt? Anyone have experience as a whipper-in?

My biggest problem is I have the typical equine industry schedule of one day off a week, and its not a day there are typically hunt activities so its hard to get experience, are hunts willing to take good riders and teach them the specifics of hunting?

Any advise welcome! thanks!

You got to find a way to get out and hunt. Typically staff of a hunt are very experienced hunt people. As in many years of hunting. You start off by riding as a member of a hunt, you learn the territory, the hounds, etc. and after many years maybe you become a whipper in.

I would warn you that there are fewer paid positions in hunting than there are in the other english disciplines.
    "I couldn't find my keys, so I put her in the trunk"

1 members found this post helpful.

Thumbs up jmho!