The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Default HELP! A/O jumper looking to ride in Boston area

I'm a Harvard Law student originally from the Chicago area. I am looking for a place to ride to stay fit while I'm at school. I have my own horses back home which I still compete on regularly, so I can't afford to lease one here, nor does it make sense for me to lease, since I'm gone so often - so I'm looking for a more flexible arrangement.

I compete in the high amateur/owner jumpers and Grand Prixs, have experience riding all levels of horses, and have been a working student for a top Grand Prix rider in the past. I know how to back and bring along prospects, have rehabilitated OTTBs, and have even helped run a lesson program, so I know how to ride beginner horses without making them too complicated.

Basically, I'm looking for a place to catch ride a few days a week. I don't need anything fancy. I don't even need to jump. I would be happy to spend the day riding around on lesson horses - I can get a solid workout even on those if I pull my stirrups off and two-point the entire time. Obviously, I would prefer higher quality horses, and I am willing to pay for lessons from a reputable trainer - but only if I can hack other horses at the barn too. I am willing to work for the chance to ride as well - I clean stalls, feed, groom, etc. with the best of them!

If anyone has any suggestions, I would really appreciate it. Thanks so much in advance!