The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Where the wind comes sweepin' down the plains

Default OK ----> ATX barn/trainer recommendations

Hi! After many years of trying, it looks like I'll finally be moving from central OK, where I've kept my horses on family property for the last few years, to North Austin. I'll be bringing one problem child of a gelding with me. I bought him as a 4y/o from the university polo team and schooled him with minimal help up to being competitive in the modified adults at local schooling h/j shows. I then stopped riding for a few years due to time/money constraints. I started riding again in the fall. I'm a do-it-yourself-er who recognizes her own limitations, so I need to find a barn that can help me finally make the leap from schooling to rated shows without breaking the bank. The caveat is that my gelding has stifle issues and needs lots of turnout, but is dominant and will pick on other geldings if turned out with both mares and geldings. Barn recommendations for north Austin??? I have a truck & trailer so boarding one place and hauling to another for lessons would also work for me.

Hi sweetie. You might try doing a search on these forums; this topic comes up pretty regularly. The first place that comes to mind is Scattered Oaks - poster Nickelodian rides there and they have a ton of turnout.

I ride at Bit By Bit Farms which has plenty of turnout and board isn't hella expensive. Not sure what openings are there now but probably there are some. Rio Vista has lots of turnout too, I believe, but it's more expensive and is more South Austin. Scattered Oaks is good too, I've heard. All three have websites which you can check out.
    My Blog of Photos and Random Anecdotes
    Proud owner of Jones: 15.3 HH Chestnut TB

1 members found this post helpful.