The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Distance/Confidence issues! Help!

So I'm relatively new to this threat.... Been reading for a while but finally registered to ask for some help.

I've been riding hunters since I was ten. Rode up to some pretty decent levels 3ft+ and some medals when I was a junior.
    I currently do not not have anything I can ride of my own and consistently--- 1 retired horse, and 1 young horse.

I am taking lessons 1+ a week and hacking 2 other times a week on trainer's horses if I'm lucky enough to get out there.

So here's the situation....
    We have been keeping the jumps small but occasionally when my trainer thinks I'm ready she would put a jump or two up to about 3ft. For some reason every time I ride up to anything bigger I keep getting the WORST spots. I always get a large chip and a couple times even stopped.

My trainer said it is because I have no confidence. I feel like I ride up with pace and confidence and for some reason I see the jump and I just stop riding up to it! It is EXTREMELY frustrating and I would love to here how you guys over came this.

I know my pace is my issue but is there anything you guys do that will help me not panic!

Someone suggested a shot of something strong so I'm more relaxed not a bad idea! JK of course!

put a neck strap on and kick?

but in honesty do you think you are possibly pulling back on the reins coming up to the jump? Maybe doing some grids that slowly move up to 3' would help.

1 members found this post helpful.

I have the same problem and what sometimes helps me is counting the stride through the whole course. I'm not necessarily counting the strides to the jump or anything in particular--just keeping an even pace throughout the course and giving my over-active brain something to focus on besides nitpicking to a distance. I just softly count in my head 1,2,1,2 around the course.