The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Life on the A Circuit?

Hello everyone I'm a freshman in high school and I have only ever competed on the state (local? Not sure) CHJA circuit. I want to eventually move over to the A Circuit for more experience but I have a couple questions.

What is the A Circuit like?
    How much does it cost to show on the A Circuit?
    How can I save up for the A Circuit?
    Will it get me known better than the CHJA circuit?

Thanks so much for your time and energy!
    -Annie

The A circuit can be stressful, but a lot of fun. For the most part though, it, like most anything else in horseback riding, is what you make it. Cost is completely dependent on whether you're stabling at the show grounds or hauling in, how many classes or divisions you plan to compete in, if you're going to compete in stakes, derbies, or other special/money classes, and how many days you show. When I used to compete, a week at a B show could cost up to $450-$500, at an A show it would cost me closer to $850-$900. If you plan to stay on for two weeks, double that. If you're going out of town or out of state, factor in your travel and hotel costs.

Yes, riding on the A circuit will probably get you better known than competing at the local shows. However, there are a lot of people competing at the A circuit level. Being kind to your fellow competitors, a great rider, and a caring, genuine horsewoman is going to be what makes you stand apart. A lot of people can go in and win ribbons with a bit of dumb luck and a talented horse. Saving up for the A circuit is like saving up for a car, a house, or anything else. Get a job, budget, and save your money. Or, alternatively, win the lottery.

3 members found this post helpful.