The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Need Relaxation Ideas*UPDATE*

*Update in last post*

Ok so I'm an instructor and I have a student who has me stumped!

Here's the deal, she's a decent intermediate rider (or at least I thought she was) until I move her off her large pony and onto a horse. She's fine at the trot but as soon as the horse canters she tenses every single muscle and just perches in the saddle. It's fear.

I don't get how she can know how to sit a canter on a very uncomfortable 14.1 pony (I've ridden him, it's not a great canter), but put her on a 15.3 horse (she isn't huge) with a GREAT canter and she panics. It's such a completely foreign idea to me that's just not my nature.

I've tried the following (note I became her instructor in Sep. and I started her with horses in Nov. after last show season was over):

*Riding with no stirrups
    *Riding with no stirrups on the lunge line
    *Having her sing while she canters (this actually had some mild success)
    *My track for the last month was just to force the issue and make her do it, hoping that she would just realize this is NOT a big deal. But if anything that's made the problem worse.
    *Not asking for a canter, just working on precision at the walk and trot. This is good, but isn't transferring to the canter at all.

She's getting too big to show the pony, she needs to move up to a horse, but at this point we're supposed to start showing in another 2 months and I wouldn't let her do a w/t/c class at all.