The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Tough Mudder. Done it? -- Update Post 30. Did it! Loved it!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azQbi...e_gdata_player

This is my first year doing it and I'd love to hear from others who have done it before. I'm not so keen about getting electrocuted, but it can't be any worse than accidentally touching hot wire at the barn, right??

If you've done it before, would you do it again? Words of advice/wisdom welcomed!
    Last edited by Cataluna; Oct. 16, 2013 at 09:04 PM.

My sister did it last year. She really liked it, it's a really fun supportive atomosphere. Everyone helps everyone else complete. I don't think the electrocution was thaaat bad, not her favourite part though. If you train adequately you should be just fine. My 60 year old father is planning on doing it this year

I would really like to do one at some point. Need to get a group of friends together to do it though.

P.

A friend and her husband did this last fall, and both are young, Military trained, worked up to it slowly with training, and both finished. It was fun, and they want to do another one, but it is very strenuous, and requires a lot of stamina, and courage. I believe the whole point is to teach teamwork, and many people help others along. There was a wonderful video of a bunch of strangers forming a human chain to enable a disabled participant to get up and over a wall, and it brought tears to my eyes.
    You can't fix stupid-Ron White

Do it!! You won't regret it. DH did one with his soldiers and they had a blast. I did a Spartan (which is the same concept, but shorter) and it was a blast!! Got disgusting, muddy, dirty, and was exhausted but I had a blast.

My BIL does Tough Mudders for fun, but he's kind of like a fitness God, so he doesn't count.
    Quote Originally Posted by MistyBlue View Post