The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Talking College Student wanting to go pro

I know, I know, you saw the title, and this has been a topic of many threads....

I have been riding for 14 years and I am a sophomore, business major (either Management or Finance, not sure and don't have to decide until May 2013) in college. I really want to do this professionally (I know it's hard to be successful and make money) and this summer I am going to be a working student at a barn in Argentina.

Most college kids (that want jobs after college), do an intense internship the summer after their junior year. I would love to do another working student program; however, my mom said she "wouldn't approve" if I did. So... I guess that means I could go out and about on my own and do that (but I depend on her for rent/food/board so might end up as a hobo), or I could please her and get an internship with some big/fancy company.

BASICALLY... my question is, what kind of jobs in the job market would help someone in the horse world? If I was to become a professional rider, I want this job to stand out and help me get a job, and on the other hand, if I end up staying an amateur, what kind of job would have me set in the real world, but able to afford horses/board/training?

Also, I am torn between a finance degree and a management degree. Management is said to be easier, and I think it would help me in the horse world with my own business. Finance is said to be harder, but have better job options down the road with better pay.

Please COTHers help me! I love reading these threads and most of you guys have so much knowledge and great advice! Help me

Go with finance or better yet, accounting, hands down. You will take management classes and get some experience. However, management is best learned hands on, through sucess and mistakes.