The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Swimming in pools?

Hey!
    Totally useless question/concern:
    I have taken up recreational swimming once or twice a week in an indoor pool facility. It's a nice workout, burns some calories and it gives me a break from my usual gym routine.
    Now, my husband is totally paranoid about germs in pools...he always goes on about dirty/diseased people and "sharing the water" with them. I always thought pools had enough chlorine in them to kill every germ and then some?
    Yesterday someone else mentioned to me that they dislike swimming because they perceive pools as dirty (dirty people swimming in them, people with skin diseases....). Yuck!
    So far I have been happily ignorant of swimming with germs.

Anyone an expert on pool water? Am I dillusional in thinking it's pretty clean???

I am not an expert on pool water, but if the pool is well maintained, you have nothing to worry about.

I mean come on, if pools were really the bacteria traps some people think they are, it would be common knowledge given the widespread use of public pools. I don't think I can recall a single news story about someone becoming sick as a result of swimming in properly maintained public pool.
    Everyone is entitled to my opinion.

1 members found this post helpful.

I've never worried about swimming in public swimming pools...they are either chlorinated or they use salt for disinfection. Lots of people swim in pools, including babies, mine has been in them since he was tiny. No pool induced infections.

We live on a lake (actually large pond) and swim in it happily all summer. That IS full of bacteria (dirty people, dirty dogs, dirty fish, dirty frogs, dirty geese...and everyone is on septic here and you know the leeching fields eventually end up in the lake . Still no health issues from it.