The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Taking a horse on trial

I'm in the market for a new horse and was offered to take a horse on trial. I've never done that before, I've just gone out to try and ended up buying right away, however I’m seriously considering it.

I haven't worked out the particulars with the seller but what is involved with taking a horse on trial? Insurance? Money down, etc?

When I've been involved in this kind of arrangement, the ground rules have been:
    * no out of state trials
    * usually for a limited period of time (i.e. 5 to 7 days)
    * horse is not to be turned out with other horses
    * horse can only ridden by the buyer and her trainer
    * usually you leave a check/cash for the sale amount with the seller and if anything happens to the horse while in the buyers care, the buyer is responsible for the expenses
    * If the horse will be jumping, there is usually a restriction on the height and number of jumps, etc.

Those are the highlights, but it is really up to you and the seller to arrange.
    ~ In the chaos of the showing, remember riding should be fun for all, including our 4-legged kids.

You need insurance, for sure.
    Quote Originally Posted by Linny View Post
    Those martingales were so taut, you could play Ode to Joy on them with a comb

I have never done this before, but I would treat it as a lease with a clause to buy. I am sure you are going to get all sorts of answers, but it really depends on what each party agrees. I leased my horse for 1.5 years before I bought him.

I would ask the owner what they are comfortable with doing and work it out with them. I would make sure you have it all in writing. I would get a PPE before and an agreed upon price in the contract along with insurance if applicable with medical and mortality.