The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default How much of a demand is there for kid-size adult pony trainers?

Thinking about finally taking the steps to have the career I've always wanted, but I have never really put myself out there like I should have a LONG time ago when I had the connections.
    At 28 years old, I'm realizing I made a huge mistake when I went to nursing school and took a riding hiatus for a couple years and then moved away with my husband to a new area where I didn't know a single horse person. Horses are my parent's life (TB trainers), and were my life and I often question why I didn't just leave it that way. Oh well, such is life and we learn from our mistakes. I really do not love what I do and its starting to eat away at me. I think I'm having a 1/4 life crisis!

Being petite all my life, ponies became a sort of 'forte' for me. I've been riding for over 20 years, most of my time in the saddle has been spent schooling green ponies. I did a lot of catch riding ponies at shows as a junior, also have experience breaking ponies.
    I want to do this again, but is it possible to earn a living as a pony jock? I wouldn't limit myself just to ponies, but because I'm kid size I think I'd be most useful to someone looking for an experienced rider to school their ponies. I'm also willing to teach lessons, but have more experience as a rider than a instructor. Its been several years since I last had a sale pony, so that too is on my agenda.

So I ask, how much of a demand is there for someone like me? I live in Virginia and there are a good amount of H/J barns in my area. I'm slowing getting to know the horsey folk in my area as I've been riding and showing at a friend's private barn.
    I don't expect to be able to make a living right off the bat, so this would be part time until hopefully a full time opportunity/demand comes along.