The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default How much should I expect to pay...

How much should I expect to pay for a broodmare? First of all let me say that I'm not currently shopping but am starting to see what my options are. I have a couple mares that I absolutely love but are more "hunter" in type and I want to focus on upper level jumpers. So after I sell those two lovely ladies I'll start shopping for a good broodie for a jumper breeding program. Ideally, I am looking for a holsteiner mare from a good stamm. My first inclination is to buy an older experienced mare (that way we won't both be complete newbies) but would be open to buying a younger maiden.

So what should I be expecting to pay? Is it fairly difficult to find a quality broodmare that is reproductively sound? I have seen quite a few that are for sale because they have had trouble staying in foal in their older years. How much of a gamble is buying a maiden (obviously assuming that the prepurchase exam includes a repro exam)? Any suggestions on where to look or any tips on shopping?

Broodmare prices can be all over the map. I have gotten several through connections for next to nothing; these were good mares retiring from the show world and teenage maidens - so a bit risky for a breeder. One worked out and has had 3 foals but is probably now retired, 1 broke a leg and had to be euthanized while pregnant with her first foal, one was a money pit that never got pregnant and has been a pasture pet for the last 6 years or so. These mares had good motherlines - not outstanding, but they had GP careers. I've been offered a few other mares that had GP careers but I turned them down because their motherlines were underwhelming.