The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question Adult Amateur over 51 years old division question?

I am a true amateur adult rider in every way. I work full time, I keep my horses at home, have been riding most of my life but just recently changed discliplines from dressage to hunter a few years ago (although as a young adult I rode in the local hunter schooling shows on borrowed horses). I am relatively new to the whole A circuit show scene and thankfully have been able to stay away from the big show barn drama scene as I ship in and do my own thing most of the time.

I have been lucky enough to breed a very nice horse who holds her own in good company (which says a lot considering it is little ole me that shows her) but I recently saw a division that interests me...the 51 year old and above.

Frankly it would be nice not to have to compete with that 20 to 35 year old in the prime of their life, wealthy young lady that has a pro help her every step of the way and compete with shall I say, those more "mature" riders such as myself.

Is this division strictly for the "uber" rich adult rider that has a full time coach or trainer or can an amateur rider who does it on their own really have a shot at it......this might be just a pipe dream but I thought I would ask you guys for your honest opinion.

Its going to depend on the show. I don't see any reason there wouldn't be uber rich 55 year olds who train with BNTs if there are uber rich 25 years old who train with BNTs at the same show.

That said, you might be able to avoid all the 19-22 year olds who just aged out of the juniors.
    Currently blogging for Chronicle of the Horse. Articles can be found here: http://www.chronofhorse.com/category...ryan-lefkowitz