The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Rehabbing the Parellified horse?

DISCLAIMER: I have limited knowledge of Parelli, other than the most basic of basics-- there are 7 games, most of it is ground work, a lot of emphasis is put on what the horse feels like doing today (as opposed to the rider/handler), etc. Frankly, I find the whole thing to be very cult-like and it's safe to say that I will not be joining their ranks anytime soon.

As I am well aware that most of this forum is of the same opinion, I shall post this here (and not try to start a flame war by going to a more Parelli-friendly board)...

There are a few Parelli people at my barn. They are all very, very nice people, and I have nothing against them personally; they don't try to twist me to their methods and vice versa... so my issue is not with THEM, but with the occasional results of their methods.

We have a horse at our barn who has been Parellified for quite a while. He's not a MEAN horse, but he has absolutely NO respect for his handlers-- he has repeatedly run people over (including me) at pasture gates, in his stall, pinned people against walls, etc. He just bulldozes people, not with malicious intent, but because he CAN-- if he wants to go from X to Y and you happen to be in the way, he completely ignores you and just goes where he pleases.

He has already seriously injured someone due to his behaviors-- ran her over coming out of his stall, broke bones in her foot/leg. He's at the point now where the barn staff is (or soon will be) refusing to handle him... I don't know if the BO is going to evict him, or what. If that DOES happen, I don't know whether his owner will just move him, or try to sell him. (She NEVER rides him; he's basically a big pet.)

So here's where my curiosity kicks in... Is it POSSIBLE to un-Parelli horses like this??