The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Question Not a shoulder-in?

GM being a stickler for precision riding and accuracy, I am a little bothered by this photo caption (and yes, I realize he had nothing to do with it, but it is an article dedicated to his teachings.)
    To see the photo:
    http://www.chronofhorse.com/article/...rk-over-fences
    And the caption:
    "Both groups of riders in Day 3 of the George H. Morris Horsemastership Training Sessions started their warm-up with lateral exercises. Here, Gabrielle Bausano performs a shoulder-in."

Now, I am no expert, nor am I a Hunter/Jumper. I am an eventer that does take her dressage seriously though, and from what I know, this does not depict a shoulder-in? (Horse bent in the direction of travel, 4-tracking, etc...) Am I mistaken?
    A friend told me I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Finally...back in civilization, more or less

Quote Originally Posted by BEARCAT View Post
    GM being a stickler for precision riding and accuracy, I am a little bothered by this photo caption (and yes, I realize he had nothing to do with it, but it is an article dedicated to his teachings.)
    To see the photo:
    http://www.chronofhorse.com/article/...rk-over-fences
    And the caption:
    "Both groups of riders in Day 3 of the George H. Morris Horsemastership Training Sessions started their warm-up with lateral exercises. Here, Gabrielle Bausano performs a shoulder-in."

Now, I am no expert, nor am I a Hunter/Jumper. I am an eventer that does take her dressage seriously though, and from what I know, this does not depict a shoulder-in? (Horse bent in the direction of travel, 4-tracking, etc...) Am I mistaken?
    I think it is very difficult to tell, actually; to me, it looks like the photographer might have been shooting at a bit of an angle.