The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Jump saddle on a budget

Didnt get any replies to my other post on fitting my mare and what might work so lets try this. I am looking for a jump saddle, used is fine. On a bit of a budget. Would love to stay under $600 but will go as high as $800 or a little more if I absolutely fall in love. Though I have been riding for nearly 30 years I have not ridden in many saddles. I have had one saddle since I was about 14. A Knight Rider that I bought from Gayers (localish store, they also sell Ashley and Clarke, which is what I rode in as a kid) This saddle does not fit my new TB mare. It bridges on her back which causes it to slide back and also puts too much pressure on where the back end of the saddle sits. I want to try to stay away from foam pannels if possible, and need panels that are not as flat as mine. I pretty nearly despise Wintec synthetic saddles. Though this is what I am doing my hacking in since it fits my mare better than my KR. What else might be recommended. Also where could I shop? I am in Southern Maryland. I have tried Ebay but I need an 18" seat or bigger and apparently large rearended people only ride Xwide horse? as I can not find one in a medium or regular tree. Have checked out pelham saddlery and they do not seem to have anything in my price range that might work. Have alo checked some other sites but cant remember names.

You might check out the Northrun Ashland at yoursaddles.com - it meets some of your criteria & is a decent saddle (may be negotiable on price), my only hesitation would be the gullet channel width but you can assess your mare before you bring anything in.

Schleese has a video format 9 point saddle fit check list that is well worth viewing.