The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Considering taking the plunge....Hanging out the shingle and renting a farm

I know everyone who has a horse farm/business has been through this so I am coming to the COTH collective for any and all points of advice.

A VERY good opportunity has come up and I am trying to decide/balance life/ find if I have the backing to start a business.

The situation is this:

A farm I know well is for rent with a LOT of amenities at a more than fair price here in the middle of Pa horsey heaven.

I have someone interested in going in on it with me for half.

I have gotten more folks interested in having me train their ottb's for the first couple months off the track or after turn out. (I have LOTS of experience doing this)

I have other folks who are also local and been commenting about the lack of Layup/retirement board.

The conditions on this place are such that I can't run a boarding or lesson barn as the owner doesn't want high traffic by the house (across from barn and will ultimately have tenants that shouldn't be disturbed) We have been okayed with 3-4 regular people in the barn but that's it outside of normal industry traffic (Potential buyers, vet, farrier etc)

All that is fine by me as I have 2 students who I will happily commute to their farm to teach.

I am doing a lot of cost analysis right now and my possible business partner and I toured the farm today. She loves it. I already knew that.

How do you get over the "hump" of saying... "Ok I am hanging out my shingle!" I mean lets not dither here... I am a solid rider, a capable ottb retrainer and have tons of experience in many disciplines applicable in this area. But I am surrounded by Olympians and very big names. Do I have a hope in hell of making any kind of a difference with the horse community here?