The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question Canary hay..what do you know about it?

In over 25 years here in the mid-Atantic in the horse biz,lot of acreage/pasture that I maintain... never heard of it.

Typically I feed a high quality timothy, and if I have to timothy/orchard mix.

My hay supplier wants to sell me a timothy/orchard/canary grass mix. I'm sure it will be beautiful as he is stellar about quaity.

But I have no experience about canary grass.

Can those who know -- with good knowledge about horse nutrition -- weigh in? New to me and I'm not neophyte! TIA.

I suspect that what people call "canary grass" might differ...my hay supplier replaces bales that accidentally have "canary grass" in it. But I did see hay on craigslist recently that was a mix of grasses including canary grass, and written in such a way that it was a good thing.

Curious what the hay experts will say. My horses don't really eat the "canary grass" that comes in our hay sometimes....so I'm not sure what it really is.

ETA: sorry, I realize my response is useless. But hoping someone else will chime in to help.

As usual, Google is your friend. Lots of studies out there; here's one:

http://www.equinews.com/article/reed...as-horse-feeds

As a personal anecdote...I have some wild Reed Canary Grass in my fields, and the horses love to nosh on it when it's young...once it gets older/taller/rougher, they don't like it as much. I do have my field with Reed Canary Grass baled because when it's older, it's quite low in sugars, and I'm able to feed that particular batch of hay to my IR/Cushings mare, without any soaking necessary.

The round bales I get often have a good bit of canary reed grass in them. My horses eat it like it candy.
    “While the rest of the species is descended from apes, redheads are descended from cats.” Mark Twain