The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Planning a clinic?

Does anyone have any advice for putting together a clinic? I'm in graduate school, and although I've been in the area for a few years I don't have a ton of local connections.

When I studied abroad in Spain I took classical dressage lessons, and my trainer just booked her tickets to come spend ten days visiting me this winter . We could do it at the farm I board at, although the footing isn't the best, or we could travel locally over the two weekends she's here. Does anyone have any ideas for how to do this? I've talked to a few people who are interested, but haven't gotten any commitment yet.

She's an excellent teacher and I would love to share her! Although she'll be helping me with my guys anyway, so it wouldn't be the end of the world if it didn't work out.
    Last edited by vantage; Nov. 28, 2012 at 11:55 PM. Reason: grammar

Since it will be winter, it would be important to have it at a venue with an indoor arena. Stabling is nice for people to have a place to stick their horses so they can audit. Since she is visiting you anyway, it sounds more casual, not like you have to cover a lot of fixed expenses. People are likely to take a chance on an unknown if it is fairly affordable. I would create a flyer with her bio, maybe a nice photo, and registration info. Do you have a local GMO that will put the info on their calendar? Post the info in the local equestrian facebook pages, etc. Maybe you can have a small one day clinic at the start of her visit and another at the end. You might get auditors that like what they see and will want to ride next time.

Agree with above advice.

But, feel I should warn you, herding cats is easier.

If there is a local dressage barn, maybe see if they are interested in hosting the clinic, and will encourage their own students.