The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default hafie vs fjord?

i am only familiar with hafies.........can the more knowledgable ones list the pros and cons between the two, if possible?
    thanks

That is very hard, as the breeds vary greatly from horse to horse. One Fjord may be very stocky, one may be lean and refined. They are both really quite similar, except Fjords are usually pretty stocky and compact while Haflingers can be quite refined. Haflingers also have more hair than Fjords do, so if you live in a muddy place or don't have time for hair-upkeep, look into some Fjords.

But really, I have limited experience with both breeds, so don't take my comparisons to heart.

I only know one Fjord, and I've only known him for one week. But, oh my word, I am smitten with him!

Oh, and I don't know any Haffies, but they sure are pretty!
    I have a Fjord! Life With Oden

aahhhhhhhhhh...........i see i need to be more precise in my questioning...........

i am looking for more of a personality/charcteristics comparison than appearances..........
    i love the stocky/drafty look of both.....both are super gorgeous.........although i was unaware of the differences in coat length.............i am aware of the unique manes........

i had a hafie for a trail horse.......loved her size at 13.2, loved the color/looks......her personality ......but lost her to colic.......rescued another that seems to have shoulder issues that will not resolve, and she can only be used for lead line ......
    so, i am now debating, having read a bit about fjords, whether to stick with hafies or check out fjords..........
    all i want is a safe,sane, short trail horse, and i adore the stocky.drafty builds of these 2 breeds, and they are both equally gorgeous.........
    just looking for some first-hand comparisons, if possible