The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Jumping narrow horses vs. wider horses: biomechanics of tall folks?

Made a little discovery the other day. It seems apparent that I am, for some reason, unable to produce a normal jumping position on a horse that is too narrow for my long legs. I am 5'11 and long through the thigh and in the back.

From this past February to August I rode a wider draft cross mare and everything was peaches in terms of my eq. over fences. No major issues. Towards the end of August I started riding an ArabxOldenburg mare that was about the same height but not as wide. Sometime last month I really started having issues with my two point that had not happened in months. They had been resolved and suddenly they came back. Specifically, my back was rounding over fences. Instead of bending at the hips I was bendning from my lower or mid back. I was not feeling this half the time. Everything felt secure and stable but my equitation was suddenly going downhill. I had a couple rides on a more experienced but even narrower horse to see if his more correct, back snapping jump would get be back where I need to be (the ArabxOld mare is green and jumps hollow). It didn't do much. Weird back rounding persisted.

Got back on the wide draft mare yesterday and my eq. was suddenly fine again. Back flat, butt out the back, legs just fine. My trainer believes that it must have something to do with the horse being wide enough to accommodate my legs adequately enough to keep my secure and stable. I agree with this since I know it was definitely harder with get my legs glued to the thinner horses. But I'm just curious how that effects my back over a fence. Would riding with my legs tighter and closer together cause me to be unable to bend at the hips?