The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results
 
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr. 23, 2005
    Posts
    1,218

    Default How does "Auto-Save" work?

    I had this big private message that I was working on, and my computer accidentally decided to poop the bed and shut off (okay - so my power button is super touchy and I accidentally grazed over it).

    My message was "Auto-Save"-ed approximately a billion times, but that doesn't seem to be any good? What does Auto-Save really do? Are there drafts somewhere? I don't seen anything "saved".



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec. 12, 2007
    Posts
    4,290

    Default

    From what I understand, the auto-save automatically backs up your work every 30 seconds. If anytime after the initial 30 second backup you are inadvertently thrown out of your reply, or you even close the thread intentionally in the midst of composing a reply, you can go back to that thread, click Reply to Thread and you should see a "Restore Auto-Saved content" message in the lower left-hand corner of either the Quick Reply box or the Advanced message editor box.

    Click on that message and your text is restored.

    I just tried it out on this thread, and it worked--pretty cool!
    Mod 1



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr. 23, 2005
    Posts
    1,218

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Moderator 1 View Post
    From what I understand, the auto-save automatically backs up your work every 30 seconds. If anytime after the initial 30 second backup you are inadvertently thrown out of your reply, or you even close the thread intentionally in the midst of composing a reply, you can go back to that thread, click Reply to Thread and you should see a "Restore Auto-Saved content" message in the lower left-hand corner of either the Quick Reply box or the Advanced message editor box.

    Click on that message and your text is restored.

    I just tried it out on this thread, and it worked--pretty cool!
    Mod 1
    Do you know how it works for private messages? I didn't see anything like that there. Perhaps my computer turning off negated what COTH Auto-Saved.



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec. 12, 2007
    Posts
    4,290

    Default

    It works pretty much the same way. I just started composing a message to you, waited until it autosaved once, then shut down my computer.

    I started it back up, pulled COTH back up and then clicked on the compose a new message link from my PM inbox. In the lower left corner of the Private Message composition box was "restore auto save content." I clicked on it, and it pulled up the content I'd started typing.

    I do have the "remember me" option selected so I stay logged into the site at all times, so I'm not sure if you don't use that option if it would work the same way. I can test it if you are still having trouble.

    Hope that helps!
    Mod 1



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr. 23, 2005
    Posts
    1,218

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Moderator 1 View Post
    It works pretty much the same way. I just started composing a message to you, waited until it autosaved once, then shut down my computer.

    I started it back up, pulled COTH back up and then clicked on the compose a new message link from my PM inbox. In the lower left corner of the Private Message composition box was "restore auto save content." I clicked on it, and it pulled up the content I'd started typing.

    I do have the "remember me" option selected so I stay logged into the site at all times, so I'm not sure if you don't use that option if it would work the same way. I can test it if you are still having trouble.

    Hope that helps!
    Mod 1
    Huh. I have that option selected, but didn't get anything to to restore my message when my computer booted back up. I'll try it again later... a bit too busy right now to shut it down.

    I use Firefox 16.0.2, if it matters.



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr. 14, 2001
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    19,778

    Default

    Cool!

    I was able to get it to work using Firefox 17.0 You do have the click on the "restore auto save content" button.



Similar Threads

  1. "Save the Hwy 51 Horse"
    By goneriding24 in forum Off Course
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: Sep. 25, 2012, 11:15 PM
  2. Favorite "de-furring" Tool for auto
    By HalfArabian in forum The Menagerie
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Mar. 3, 2012, 09:06 PM
  3. Probem with "save" in the "edit" page
    By CVPeg in forum Help Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Dec. 27, 2011, 10:55 PM
  4. "We can't save them all" (long)
    By mg in forum Off Course
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Jun. 5, 2011, 06:39 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: Nov. 8, 2009, 12:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •