The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Shaved horse blanketing help?

Hello there everyone! For the first time this winter, I will be shaving my horse. Unfortunately, I have never done this before, so I am at a loss as to what and when to blanket him. First, some background on the horse! My boy is a 10 year old 17.1hh TB gelding. He does have a fairly thing coat, just sweats a ton!

The blankets I currently have are:
    Turnout/ rain sheet
    thin, breathable liner (not fleece though)
    Heavy weight turnout

Currently I have been blanketing him as follows since he still has his hair:
    turnout sheet and liner when it gets around 40-35 degrees
    heavy weight when it gets below 25

I am looking to purchase one more blanket/ turnout if necessary, but I don't know what would be in my best interest to purchase. I am considering a medium or light weight turnout that I can use on its own or layered on really cold nights. Also, if anyone could tell me which blankets would be a appropriate to use when that would be awesome as well as how to layer them and so forth!

On a side note, when I have him i'm planning on putting a design on his rump. Any ideas? (; I'm thinking a clover.

Thanks a bunch you guys!!

Also, I forgot to mention he will be getting a hunter clip and does live inside, though he gets turned out every day for a few hours.