The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results
 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr. 20, 2009
    Location
    Raeford, North Carolina
    Posts
    2,722

    Default Is the pop-up ad at the bottom of the screen driving anyone else nuts?

    Is it just me?

    Ford Trucks, John Deere Gators, make it stop!

    If I'm on my phone I can't tap the little "close" icon without activating the link to another ad.
    "Drawing on my fine command of the English language, I said nothing" - Robert Benchley
    Cotton would fight.
    http://buildingthegrove.blogspot.com/



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan. 25, 2004
    Location
    Milton, Ontario
    Posts
    1,435

    Default

    YES!!!!! I hate them. They make me not want to purchase those items.



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct. 21, 1999
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    12,243

    Default

    There's a long thread dedicated to this in the Help Forum.
    http://www.chronofhorse.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=371124
    They're working on it, and you can help by letting them know what browser you're using when you see it.

    I have Firefox with Adblocker, by the way, and I don't see them (I hope I didn't just jinx myself). I can still see the ads on the side fine.
    Originally Posted by Alagirl
    We just love to shame poor people...when in reality, we are all just peasants.



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul. 17, 2012
    Posts
    77

    Default

    They keep feezing my computer...



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug. 26, 2012
    Posts
    157

    Default

    I visit this site on my iPhone so I have no idea what operating system or whatever they need. I too cannot close the ads without opening another ad. Sometimes I just have to leave the site because I can't see around the ads.



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr. 14, 2001
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    16,262

    Default

    Eleventy billion threads on this issue.

    For your computer: Firefox and AdBlock Plus Or: Chrome and Adblock

    For your android phone/tablet: Dolphin browser (no guarantees, but I've not seen the pop up at all with this browser)

    If you have an iPhone/iPad, I don't have any ideas. Try this perhaps?



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar. 15, 2012
    Location
    Taft, TN
    Posts
    289

    Default

    Completely annoying. And I have a pop-up blocker, and I still see them. Grrr!



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr. 14, 2001
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    16,262

    Default

    dbolte, what browser are you using, and what blocker? These ads aren't really "pop ups" (pop ups open in a new window) which might be why your pop up blocker doesn't work.

    For Safari fans, it looks like this is what you need: http://safariadblock.com/

    This might work for IE: http://simple-adblock.com/ (Nevermind, I can't get this to work with IE. Don't think it's unsafe, but it did not stop the ads. Perhaps someone else will have better luck with it.)



  9. #9
    ACMEeventing is offline Grand Prix Premium Member
    Original Poster
    Join Date
    Apr. 20, 2009
    Location
    Raeford, North Carolina
    Posts
    2,722

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Simkie View Post
    Eleventy billion threads on this issue.
    Eleventy billion? That's a lot of threads.

    I don't know nuthin' about changing browsers to not see ads, way above my pay grade

    I just want to surf COTH without being attacked by a Dodge Ram.

    Remember last year when there were creepy eyes at the top of the screen? I forget what it was advertising but it was freakville city.
    "Drawing on my fine command of the English language, I said nothing" - Robert Benchley
    Cotton would fight.
    http://buildingthegrove.blogspot.com/



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb. 13, 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    6,802

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by littlebaypony View Post
    I visit this site on my iPhone so I have no idea what operating system or whatever they need. I too cannot close the ads without opening another ad. Sometimes I just have to leave the site because I can't see around the ads.
    I can't say for sure because I've never gotten the nefarious bottom banner ad on my iPhone, but try the Opera Browser or Dolphin Browser apps and see if that fixes your problem. The fact that I've browsed COTH plenty on Opera browser and never gotten the popup is a good sign.

    I prefer Opera Browser for almost everything. It's automatically configured to waste as little extraneous data as possible, which means stuff loads faster than it does in Safari and I blow through my cellular data plan slower. In Opera, the top banner ad and the sidebar ads here on Chronicle Forums are automatically blocked/not loaded. So I would bet Opera also blocks the irritating pop-up ads.

    Another thing to check, although I doubt it'll help: make sure your Safari for iPhone is configured to block pop-ups. That's in the Settings App under Safari.
    ________________________
    Resident COTH saddle nerd. (CYA: Not a pro, just a long-time enthusiast!)
    http://twitter.com/jenlmichaels



  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr. 14, 2001
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    16,262

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ACMEeventing View Post
    Eleventy billion? That's a lot of threads.

    I don't know nuthin' about changing browsers to not see ads, way above my pay grade
    I know! Eleventy billion is a lot

    What browser do you use now? There might be a very easy way to make it all go away



  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan. 31, 2007
    Posts
    264

    Default yes it is

    yes it is driving me nuts! And curing me of my COTH bb addiction!



  13. #13
    ACMEeventing is offline Grand Prix Premium Member
    Original Poster
    Join Date
    Apr. 20, 2009
    Location
    Raeford, North Carolina
    Posts
    2,722

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Simkie View Post
    I know! Eleventy billion is a lot

    What browser do you use now? There might be a very easy way to make it all go away
    I am a recent Mac convert so my desktop is an iMac and I use an iPhone. I guess whichever browser comes standard is what I use. I had no idea you could get an app(?) to choose a different browser. Sounds complicated. Horses I know, computers not so much.
    "Drawing on my fine command of the English language, I said nothing" - Robert Benchley
    Cotton would fight.
    http://buildingthegrove.blogspot.com/



  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun. 30, 2009
    Posts
    6,460

    Default

    Yes I could do an ad block but why ...
    - when I can rant & rave about those &%^#$$#@ TRUCKS etc instead


    & it has really reduced my COTH time as well - now all I need to do is to remember to log out so my action is actually logged by site admin (instead I just wander awaaaaayyyyy....)



  15. #15
    ACMEeventing is offline Grand Prix Premium Member
    Original Poster
    Join Date
    Apr. 20, 2009
    Location
    Raeford, North Carolina
    Posts
    2,722

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RSEventer View Post
    yes it is driving me nuts! And curing me of my COTH bb addiction!
    Hey, c'mon man, you're no quitter and you don't have a problem. COTH isn't an addiction it's a "lifestyle choice"

    (I could quit if I wanted to. I just don't want to)
    "Drawing on my fine command of the English language, I said nothing" - Robert Benchley
    Cotton would fight.
    http://buildingthegrove.blogspot.com/



  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr. 14, 2001
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    16,262

    Default

    ACME, for your computer, give this a try: http://safariadblock.com/

    For your phone, see jn4jenny's post. Here is Opera for your phone: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/oper...363729560?mt=8



  17. #17
    ACMEeventing is offline Grand Prix Premium Member
    Original Poster
    Join Date
    Apr. 20, 2009
    Location
    Raeford, North Carolina
    Posts
    2,722

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Simkie View Post
    ACME, for your computer, give this a try: http://safariadblock.com/

    For your phone, see jn4jenny's post. Here is Opera for your phone: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/oper...363729560?mt=8
    er . . . what's with this warning on that link?

    Seller: Opera Software ASA
    © Opera Software ASA
    You must be at least 17 years old to download this app.
    Frequent/Intense Mature/Suggestive Themes
    This is why I avoid technology. I'm 45 going on 14.
    "Drawing on my fine command of the English language, I said nothing" - Robert Benchley
    Cotton would fight.
    http://buildingthegrove.blogspot.com/



  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr. 25, 2011
    Posts
    856

    Default

    The last discussion was locked. Nothing changed. Too bad. This was a great place to be.



  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb. 15, 2004
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    7,703

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Louise View Post
    There's a long thread dedicated to this in the Help Forum.
    http://www.chronofhorse.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=371124
    They're working on it, and you can help by letting them know what browser you're using when you see it.

    I have Firefox with Adblocker, by the way, and I don't see them (I hope I didn't just jinx myself). I can still see the ads on the side fine.
    I have the same set up and I don't see any ads, floating, bottom or side bar. I don't see ads on FB either. Strange that you can still see the sidebar ads. Adblocker does not discriminate..



  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr. 14, 2001
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    16,262

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ACMEeventing View Post
    er . . . what's with this warning on that link?

    This is why I avoid technology. I'm 45 going on 14.
    My guess is that warning is there because it's an internet browser.....and you can use the internet to find (GET THIS) p0rn. Gasp! I know!

    FalseImpression, remember that Adblock Plus runs off of a filter set. Perhaps Louise has found a filter set that allows the sidebar ads through. I would be terribly curious, Louise, what filter set you're using (you can find out by going to Firefox[or Tools]> Add-Ons> Extensions> Adblock Plus> Filter Preferences)



Similar Threads

  1. Pop-Up Ads at Bottom of Screen
    By pluvinel in forum Help Forum
    Replies: 141
    Last Post: Nov. 12, 2012, 06:42 PM
  2. Replies: 25
    Last Post: Oct. 29, 2012, 12:35 PM
  3. Guinea fowl driving me NUTS!!
    By Jay-N-Jete' in forum Around The Farm
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: Mar. 18, 2010, 03:49 PM
  4. Gnats are driving me Nuts!
    By gottalovethecowgirl in forum Horse Care
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Sep. 24, 2009, 07:29 AM
  5. Dumping his bucket... DRIVING ME NUTS!!!!
    By manyspots in forum Horse Care
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: Jan. 22, 2009, 03:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
randomness