The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Thoughts needed on trainers...

Obviously posting under an alter.

Some background: I am a rerider coming back after several years off. Before taking a break, I could comfortably jump 2'6" bareback with no issue.

Trainer A: I have been working with for about 3 months. I started working with her on hunt seat after a dressage trainer managed to shatter my confidence (and my horse's). Old dressage trainer pushed horsey and I too fast without building enough of a foundation, and we went from happy team just getting solid at all three gaits to being scared to even work together. Horsey hated being ridden, I was scared to even sit on him. Trainer A started me on her lesson pony to build confidence and had me do groundwork with horsey until I felt good to get on horsey. We started on the lunge with horsey, and still do mostly walk/trot work. Cantering was (and still is, although to a much lesser extent) terrifying for me, since with the dressage trainer horsey would buck like no other going into it. We usually do half the lesson on the lunge line working on things like seat and leg, and the other half off the lunge doing things like leg yielding and ground poles with the occasional small crossrail or cavaletti thrown in. Trainer A has been introducing the canter by having us pick it up over a 6 inch crossrail or low cavaletti, which is working for both horsey and I. We're usually both too focused on doing everything right getting there to panic about the canter. We have started working on canter without the crossrail, and that is getting more and more solid. We mix it up with trotting out to keep horsey listening and responsive.