The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Please help with terms of a full-lease

I've never done one before. I want to do an off-site lease, but if I'm full-leasing and the owner still wants to ride the horse at least once a week, should they contribute towards expenses as well?

I've never done a full-lease before, so I'm not sure what I might be getting myself into. For example, if the owner is still riding the leased-out horse, who would typically be responsible for medical expenses if something happens?

What have been the terms of your guys' full-leases? Any advice would be much appreciated!

A full lease usually requires you to pay all expenses and to insure the horse for the time period of the lease. Under no circumstances would I enter a full lease if the owner expects to ride the horse. You can certainly invite her to ride from time to time, but that should be at your discretion, not on her demand.

We have had leases where we've been responsible for making regular reports about the horse, notifying about shows and results, allowing visits at any time (within reason), using only the trainer listed on the lease, not allowing others to ride the horse other than DD and her trainer ...

If the owner wants to ride "at least once a week", you don't have a full lease, you have a partial lease.

You'll have to deal with all the part-lease headaches like dividing up the schedule (what if she always wants to ride on Saturday, and you were planning on showing?) and expenses.

Make sure you're not paying _all_ the expenses and providing the owner with a free horse to ride.
    --
    Wendy
    ... and Patrick

In a situation like this consider doing a half lease; do you really plan to ride full time? If the owner wants to ride once in a while, like once a month, fine, wouldn't stop me from leasing horse. It would be the owners way of checking in on horse. Good luck.