The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default I LOVE my Cubito baby!!! VIDEO ADDED 7/3/13 (Post #12)

After tragically loosing my A/O jumper prospect a couple of years ago, I made the decision to purchase a yearling jumper prospect. Originally, I had planned to look at horses that were a bit older and already started, but just couldn't find anything that I really fell in love with.

I ended up going to a breeder and looking at a field full of yearlings, of which I singled out three and looked much closer. I ended up going with a yearling Cubito-Landgraf filly. I left her at the breeder's, living out until she turned 3. They started her under saddle (3 weeks) walk-trot-canter. I went to pick her up, rode her twice, and hauled her home. She spent the summer turned out and was minimally handled. I started riding her about three weeks ago, just 20 minutes a day, three or four days a week.

She cross ties like a champ, is phenomenal for the farrier, and has been one of the best-minded, easiest horses I have ever worked with. While she is only 3, and still has her baby-isms (pawing at the gate, banging her door at feeding time), however, she has such a great attitude and willing personality. I am so pleased with this filly. Anyone looking for an upper-level horse with an ammy friendly personality should give this stallion a look.

Not to mention, the breeder is awesome to work with.

http://s934.beta.photobucket.com/use.../Baton%20Rouge

Video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qZE3D65Aw9s&feature=plcp
    Last edited by lotc2005; Jul. 3, 2013 at 11:51 AM. Reason: Added photo link. Added video link.

I love these posts =)

Who is this breeder you speak of? I'd love to know where she came from!

Is the mother Lilly? I have a Czechmate x Lilly that is 6 this year, bought in utero before gk had Lilly. She has the same brain!