-
Sep. 22, 2012, 12:13 PM
#1
Saddle Identification Help!
I cannot find out the brand of this saddle. I am helping a friend sell it but I cannot find the brand! All I know is she bought it because it was pretty and she said they spend over $1,000. I'm trying to get an idea of the saddle's worth of value.
The only identifiers on the saddle is the word France and a horse. No serial numbers. When you lift up the flap it has the same "identification" on it.
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y27...ps66bd5b74.jpg
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y27...ps240b830f.jpg
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y27...e/photo-83.jpg
I found more information! This plate was upside-down so I couldn't see it. I'm even more confused now because the saddle says both France and Argentina.
Last edited by GucciJumper; Oct. 1, 2012 at 06:57 PM.
Reason: Fixing links, Adding more information
-
Sep. 22, 2012, 12:17 PM
#2
-
Sep. 22, 2012, 12:18 PM
#3
-
Sep. 22, 2012, 12:21 PM
#4
Ok links fixed! Thanks for pointing that out!
-
Sep. 24, 2012, 05:25 PM
#5
Bump!! Anyone? I really need to help this girl sell her saddle and I hate to put it up without knowing the brand.
-
Sep. 25, 2012, 10:46 AM
#6
Is it an ATM Gold?
http://www.runningfox.com/index.php?...mart&Itemid=70
Maybe contact Running Fox and ask them?
Proud Member of the "Tidy Rabbit Tinfoil Hat Wearers" clique and the "I'm in my 20's and Hope to be a Good Rider Someday" clique
-
Sep. 25, 2012, 08:29 PM
#7
I just sent an email out to them for it. Thanks for the suggestion! This saddle has me utterly confused. It isn't the greatest quality of leather but it doesn't feel like a cheap saddle if that makes sense.
-
Sep. 26, 2012, 07:36 AM
#8
Good luck! Let us know what they say .
Proud Member of the "Tidy Rabbit Tinfoil Hat Wearers" clique and the "I'm in my 20's and Hope to be a Good Rider Someday" clique
-
Oct. 1, 2012, 06:58 PM
#9
-
Oct. 1, 2012, 07:17 PM
#10
-
Oct. 1, 2012, 07:51 PM
#11
 Originally Posted by alibi_18
This. They are lovely saddles for the price, but not worth much on the used market.
Well isn't this dandy?
-
Oct. 2, 2012, 12:02 AM
#12
yup, Mystic is a Smith Worthington saddle. Excellent saddles for the price!!!! You will problaby have more of a chance selling it if you market it more in the New England area where the Smith Worthington name is more familiar to people.
I grew up in California and never heard of SW until I moved to Connecticut and here it is a very common saddle brand (of course SW is located in Hartford CT)
"You are under arrest for operating your mouth under the influence of
ignorance!" Officer Beck
-
Oct. 2, 2012, 09:11 AM
#13
I'd email SW - I'd be really surprised if it really were because that running horse isn't their logo. Both my mom and I have SW saddles and that isn't anywhere - and as far as I know, they have nothing to do with France! My guess is that someone attached that plate to another saddle - especially since it's upside-down! Not saying they did it to try to fool your friend (or whoever before it) - the saddle does look similar to a Mystic so it may have been an honest mistake.
info@smithworthington.com - send Ruth your pics!
(if I'm totally wrong and it really IS a SW, they're GREAT saddles - they last forever. But yeah, you may be better off trying to sell it in New England as so few people outside of it know of them. Which is sad for non-New Englanders!)
-
Oct. 2, 2012, 09:52 AM
#14
France says possible HDR to me. They are Argentine made, or at least used to be when I was familiar with them. The leather wasn't all that bad, either, just not top quality.
http://www.henriderivel.com/catalogo_salto_i.htm It may be the Etoile?
I am not sure about the plate thing. Seems it is almost added on.??
Last edited by Lori; Oct. 2, 2012 at 10:09 AM.
I love my fat pony and POA!
-
Oct. 2, 2012, 04:07 PM
#15
I got an email back from the company and it is not mystic. The president even looked at it and he thinks the flaps are all wrong for the saddle. The plate was on upside down which made me have my doubts which were true.
-
Oct. 3, 2012, 11:56 AM
#16
Yeah. that upside down plate seemed odd! I don;t supposed they had any idea?
-
Oct. 3, 2012, 04:50 PM
#17
Looking at the pictures, I'd second the HDR. It really has that look.
-
Oct. 3, 2012, 08:50 PM
#18
I'm hoping to Take it to the Farm House in Landrum, SC and see if they have an idea. A bit of a drive, but it may be worth it.
-
Oct. 4, 2012, 07:35 AM
#19
Keep us posted, OP! This is so interesting!
-
Oct. 6, 2012, 12:11 PM
#20
Just got back from the Farm House. They think its part of a set that you get for beginners. IMO it's a little nicer than a set but still no idea of maker. She said we could get 300 for it while the girl wants like 500.
Only other luck I might run into is the girl bought it from her old teacher. I'm hoping to get ahold of the trainer in hopes she can point me the right direction.
Similar Threads
-
By Paddys Mom in forum Off Course
Replies: 3
Last Post: Dec. 22, 2011, 05:43 AM
-
By northerhunter in forum Hunter/Jumper
Replies: 10
Last Post: Nov. 25, 2011, 09:29 PM
-
By altjaeger in forum Around The Farm
Replies: 4
Last Post: Sep. 28, 2011, 07:09 PM
-
By MustangPony11 in forum Hunter/Jumper
Replies: 3
Last Post: Apr. 9, 2011, 09:01 PM
-
By WillowsWelsh in forum Driving
Replies: 13
Last Post: Oct. 27, 2009, 05:20 AM
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|