The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default County Dressage Saddles

Caveat: I am a total newbie to dressage, and I ride a gaited horse, so please excuse any questions that might seem silly...

I am in search of a comfortable (for both horse and rider) dressage saddle and I'd like stay in a price range befitting our newbie-ness and gaited-ness. Last lesson I rode my horse in a Wintec Isabell and LOVED it, Caesar seemed happy also...I would actually consider using it for trail riding too, it was that comfortable.

So...this is where we get to the County part...I have seen, in researching County saddle threads, that lots of people like the "older" County saddles, with mixed reviews of the newer ones. Since my price range is an "older saddle" range, here are some questions.

A local consignment shop has one, I think it is a Competitor...no idea how "old" it actually is, it looks to be in decent condition. Is there any way to tell when it was made? I am going to bring that saddle to the barn and try it out, if it is super comfy I will be thrilled.

I have also been in touch with someone who has an "older" C. Competitor for sale. It looks good in pictures I've seen. She says it was made in England and is in excellent condition. Does anyone know when they were made in England and if that is a definite plus?

Does anyone have recommendations for other brands that are well known for their comfort that I might see in the "pre-owned" listings? My main issue with comfort is my seatbones, the Isabell was a dream to ride in but they seem to be hard to find "used".

Thanks in advance for any information and suggestions .

Re the older saddle on consignment - if you can read the serial number, you can probably contact County and find out how old it is. They have contact info on their website