The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Senior horse prone to choke - feed suggestions?

My golden oldie senior pony has had several episodes of choke before he came to board with me. I've been feeding him very well soaked TC Senior for almost 2 years. The new bag of senior seems to be a different consistency and he's been having trouble dropping a lot of senior mush, stretching his neck and squeaking after he eats. No teeth, well they are there, but they are worn down to nothing. No chewing surfaces.

So, I talked to the vet and his owner. The vet suggested a non-pelleted feed. The owner has feed beet pulp pellets and alfalfa pelllets with oil in the past when she couldn't get senior. He seems to be fine with soaked hay cubes.

He's getting about 4 lbs of TC Senior right now, with nice pasture. In the winter he gets 7 to 9 lbs of Senior and soaked hay cubes at his night check.

Suggestions?
    Last edited by LauraKY; Sep. 6, 2012 at 08:08 PM.
    "We can judge the heart of a man by his treatment of animals." ~Immanuel Kant

Try Hay Stretcher crumbles, moistened. I'm having great luck with this vs. the TC Senior. More palatable; I'm getting a lot more weight of feed in them for the money, and no chokes knock on wood!

Do you soak with water or with oil?
    "Horse Sense is a thing a horse has that keeps it from betting on people." - W. C. Fields