The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Temp Jobs?

Have any of you had any experience filling as a temp employee in an office setting?

I graduated with my BBA in HRM this past May from a well known business university. I have strong internship experience (both within the USA and abroad), management experience, etc. However, it has been SO difficult to land that full time position. I have interviewed quite a bit, been a finalist at a few large corporations for positions that ended up being filled internally.

My current part-time job hours are reducing and student loans are kicking in soon. I am feeling even more pressure to find that full time job.

A recruiter reached out to me and offered a temp position at a well known, international company. I would be at the corporate office, gaining very valuable experience that I need to land a job in the future (after all, everyone wants experience..) She basically explained that the former employee quit and I would be a temp until the company recruits the long term person for the job themselves. There is potential that they could just keep me if I work out well, but absolutely no guarantee.

Interview with company is Friday, they would want me to start Tuesady, and I don't know how I feel about this being a temp position! I could decline and wait weeks or months to find another offer while working fewer hours part-time, or take this full time temp job and hope it leads to more (or be out a job completely when it is filled!)

Advice?

I took a 6mo temp job and I am still here after 5yrs

You could always keep this job and continue to try to look around?
    *^*^*^
    Himmlische Traumpferde
    "Wenn Du denkst es geht nicht mehr, kommt von irgendwo ein kleines Licht daher"