The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Pierre Cousyn Clinic - experiences? philosophies?

So rumour has it that a Pierre Cousyn dressage clinic will be taking place about a 6 hour drive away from me the weekend of September 8th. All of those details are posted on the wyndrose farm website, the people who are hosting the clinic.

My question for you all - has anyone ridden in his clinics before? Would they be newbie dressage person appropriate or should I save my pennies for another day? If I participate it would be with a talented but stubborn young mare who is still 'learning the definition of forward' (with me, and because of me, that is - BF and the coaches can make it happen nicely!).

I'm just wondering if the different school of thought will give me some new tools in *my* toolbox to deal with her nappiness. I am a dressage newbie so don't know if this is potentially a revelation that would be big bad thing or whether good riding is just good riding. For what its worth my current dressage coach rides with Lars Peterson so would be following his school of thought...

Any insights would be welcome!

I used to see Pierre teaching regularly and took a lesson in the late 90s when he was busy in the SF Peninsula area.

At the time I was a training level rider with a sweet little brown mare and enjoyed his style and insights. He was a little difficult to understand in a busy arena with other instructors also teaching, but what he said made sense to me and when I followed his recommendations, saw/felt improvements.

While I'm not a proponent of trainer-hopping, there's certainly something to be said for a fresh view every now and then. If he hasn't changed much, I think your time would be well spent, but I can't speak to the economics.
    *=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=
    Dressage becomes art when it is a joy for the horse. -KBH