The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Unhappy Parents - Lame Horse At Show...What Do YOU Do?

I am no longer training (thank heaven's!) but my DD is a young teen in 4-H. Her pony got a stone bruise today at the fair and ended up lame at the 4-H show. I asked her to get off the horse and put him away for the day. She was very up-set, as they work all year for this show and she did not get to finish. Was I wrong for pulling her off the horse? As a trainer, I would have NEVER let a client show a lame horse, but as a parent, it broke my heart. He was Reserve Champion out of 8 in Pleasure and was not off during those classes. As the day went on, he began a slight head-bob and I made her get off before it got worse. She did not feel it, but I explained that as she becomes a better rider, she will notice slight lamenesses. Ugh, I hate being on this end of things. Life is much easier being the trainer!! Things are much more cut and dried!!
    Boarding for Show, Pleasure, and Retirement horses. www.LockeMeadows.com

Of course you did the right thing --- it's a hard lesson for your daughter, but she knows she can't ride a lame horse. The judges would have excused her anyway. Disappointing for her? Yes, but it's one of those things she has to learn --- the horse always comes first.

As a parent? You did the best thing you could've done. May suck in the short term, but in the long term you're teaching her to be a compassionate individual who puts the animal's needs first.
    ---
    They're small hearts.

It's about the Lesson--not the Ribbon. Ya done good.

Quote Originally Posted by SwampYankee View Post
    This. My first pony had navicular, so I got VERY good at telling if he was uncomfortable while I was riding. I can remember one time in particular (I was about 11), I had to pull up and leave in the middle of a class because he felt off.