The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Hock joint question, you anatomists

Do the upper and lower hock joints communicate?

I was under the impression that they did not. Ever. But they can in some horses? In older horses?

Thanks!
    The armchair saddler
    Politically Pro-Cat

I am not an expert, but in speaking with my vet about chemical fusion (alcohol), she did mention that we would need to inject a dye first and take an x-ray to make sure the lower and upper joints were not communicating as getting alcohol in that upper joint would be obviously devastating. I do not believe that they typically communicate, but there is a possibility due to congenital or acquired defect so it has to be ruled out.

Not my vet, but an informative article:
    http://drtanis.com/2011/05/12/ethyl-...-joint-fusion/

So I guess the answer is mostly no, they don't, but there is a possibility they can. Clear as mud?

I asked my vet that question once and the answer I got was "sometimes they do, mostly they don't". The anatomy of complex synovial structures can be very variable, so I would think anything is possible.
    Click here before you buy.

Quote Originally Posted by mvp View Post
    Do the upper and lower hock joints communicate?

I was under the impression that they did not. Ever. But they can in some horses? In older horses?

Thanks!
    What do you mean by upper and lower?

There are tarsocrural, proximal intertarsal, distal intertarsal and tarsometatarsal joints.

Communication between tarsocrural and proximal intertarsal joints is present in most horses.

Communication between distal intertarsal and tarsometatarsal joints is quite variable.
    "It's like a Russian nesting doll of train wrecks."--CaitlinandTheBay

...just settin' on the Group W bench.

Quote Originally Posted by meaty ogre View Post