The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default body clippers that don't require you to be a body builder

My oster clipmaster clippers arrived - dang, they're heavy - even hubby thinks so. Is there anything comparable & lighter? I'm new to body clipping - been clipping my dog with my andis agc's & the clipmasters are 5 times heavier. Will I get used to the weight or do I need to start working out?

I clip a tall horse, sure stool helps but,,
    wimpy me uses dog clippers with wide 10 blade.
    I have not used my Andis yet, but I will.

A lot of people now adays just body clip with their regular sized clippers.

I body clip with my Andis AGC2s.

Lister Star Clippers. Lightweight, powerful.

Default Andis AGC w/ T-84 blade

I grew up using the Clipmasters but hated that the fan blows hair all over you. I recently bought these Andis Clippers http://www.smartpakequine.com/andis-...x?cm_vc=Search to body clip an older horse with a thick hair coat. They were light weight, were easy to use, and gave a smooth clip. An advantage to the Clipmasters is that you can clip multiple animals in a row without them getting too hot. However, most of us don't have that need. The wide T-84 blade gives a clipping path as wide as the larger clippers.

^^ Love them.

I have clipmasters and I agree they don't get as hot as my small clippers. I also think they cut through a thick coat slightly better. That said, I did my body clipping last year with my small clippers and the T-84 blades. Love the T-84, gives a nice finish.

Quote Originally Posted by SLW View Post
    Lister Star Clippers. Lightweight, powerful.
    Same here

Oh man, can't agree more with that damn fan on the Osters. That being said, love them anyways and could NOT imagine body clipping with small ones . Really, people do that?