The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Thoughts on leasing all/part of horse facility to trainers

My wife and I are considering the possible purchase of a horse facility in Southern California. She's been riding for almost 30 years and has been on the leasing end of the arrangement before (she leased 20 or so stalls to train her students). However, I have no experience at all with this so I wanted to throw a few questions out there about the positives and negatives of this transaction.

- The facility has very close freeway access to a major freeway in a nice area, 30 stalls (2 barns), lighted covered arena, roundpen, large round uncovered turnout/arena, dressage-ish size turnout (possible arena), 3 small outdoor turnouts with shades, hot walker, hay storage, tack rooms. The property also has a home on it in the back of the property that we would live in.
    - Our intent would not be to run a boarding operation ourselves (we want to be pretty hands-off), but to lease the entire facility to one or two trainers (different disciplines). The thought is that we could cover most of the mortgage (we're not looking to make money, just to cover the mortgage and cost of the maintenance - I have a full time job that provides stable income).