The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Update, Nicky Corrigan's fractured femur - rays of hope?- advice please

The fracture is of the third trochanter. I finally got a good look at what that piece is here http://users.skynet.be/Road_Rebel/St...osteologie.pdf

it;'s not associated with a joint which sounds good but I guess it does protrude specifically BECAUSE the process is attached to such a strong gluteal muscle.

has anyone had any experience with an avulsion fracture of the third trochanter?

Any suggestions about things that will support healing? calcification of the bone? reattachment? anything?
    Last edited by tisor; Aug. 16, 2012 at 01:59 PM.

Default crickets??

wow, I hear crickets. So that's not good.

How about this: Does anyone know where i can rent shockwave equipment?

Sorry I have no experience with any of that but so sorry you are having to deal with it. I hope your horse heals quickly!
    ~~~~~~~~~

Member of the ILMD[FN]HP Clique, The Florida Clique, OMGiH I loff my mares, and the Bareback Riders clique!

Best wishes for your horse. I wish I had good advice or knowledge on this subject but I don't.

It would be nice if you could keep us posted with what you learn. It looks pretty scary to have a fracture on the femur. Is it a small fracture? Will it require surgery? How was it diagnosed?

Sorry for just questions and no answers.

Quote Originally Posted by PeteyPie View Post
    Best wishes for your horse. I wish I had good advice or knowledge on this subject but I don't.

It would be nice if you could keep us posted with what you learn. It looks pretty scary to have a fracture on the femur. Is it a small fracture? Will it require surgery? How was it diagnosed?

Sorry for just questions and no answers.
    Just found your original post so ignore my questions. They are mostly answered there!