The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Help me diagnose what happened this morning

I've been riding 7 years, but have only owned a horse for 1 1/2 years, so I need some opinions from you experienced horse owners about what happened this morning.

My horse is an 8 1/2 YO OTTB gelding. He's normally lively and inquisitive and greedy. I last rode him on Friday morning and he was fine. Forgive all the details below, but I want you to have a clear picture of what happened.

He was in the pasture eating this morning when I arrived and he came to me to get his carrots, which he ate in his usual enthusiastic manner. I walked him back into the barn, about 100 yards, and noticed nothing wrong until after grooming and tacking, just when I was about ready to put on his bridle, he just started to go down, front and rear. When his head got pulled up by the cross-ties, he lifted back up and stood.

I finished tacking up and started walking him down the barn aisle and noticed he was walking slowly, and his eyes seemed slightly closed and inwardly focused and disinterested. I let him stand for about a minute, and then we walked the 200 yards to the outdoor arena. He walked somewhat slowly and wasn't trying to eat the landscaping, as he often does.

In the arena, he didn't want to walk to the steps, so I positioned them to him and got on. I queued him to walk and he went about 30 feet and stopped. I pressed again and he walked another 6 feet and stopped and wouldn't move after that so I got off and walked him back to the cross-ties.