The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Can anyone suggest a reputable pony trainer in the Sacramento area?

I have a 12.3 hh pony that I would like to get going in the hunter ring. I have been contacting H/J trainers in the area and they are well known but they don't train ponies. I ride, but I am not experienced enough to jump, and have it look good enough for upper level shows or rated shows. I would like to campaign my pony next spring, Leone's Brookside, Murrietta, etc. but I don't want to show the pony myself. I won't be ready. The pony jumps but needs more finishing and would like to send him to a trainer over the winter. Anyone know of any "good" trainers in the sacramento area that train ponies? I don't want children training my pony, I want the adult trainer to train the pony. Am I asking too much? Very new to the pony world and not sure how one gets a green pony hunter to seasoned veteran status in the rated world. I would like to campaign my pony under an adult not with children -- any recommendations?

I do not have any trainer suggestions as I am on the east coast, but do realize that the pony hunter divisions at rated shows are open only to junior (child) riders. It is not really possible for an adult to show a pony hunter to "veteran status." If you want to pay to have the pony campaigned at rated shows, your best bet would be to find a barn that has pros small enough to school your pony behind the scenes and a good riding "pony jock" kid who is experienced enough to take him into the show ring when he is ready.

That is a tall order for the area. A few things to keep in mind: 12.3 hh is extremely small, you will have a very hard time finding an adult trainer who is small enough to put rides on the pony