The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Help with a horse that rears

I have a horse that im really at a loss with. I've been training horses from all walks of life for over 15 years. I break 10-20 horses a year, fix "problem" horses, etc, so I've dealt with a lot. Horse is a 3 1/2 year old, paint cross. I broke him. Before i broke him he would w/t/c in the round pen or on a lunge to the right just fine, but to the left he would rear. Straight up. We worked through this, broke him, and under saddle he would go left just fine. On the lunge line, though, he would still rear. Jump to a few months later, horse had a few months off, then moved in with me because his owner just couldnt keep him. Kinda guilted me into it, but overall i like him so its whatever. Anyway, i put him back to work, going over all the ground work again before riding and the rearing came back.
    At first, my natural thought was pain, until everything was fine with him for a bit, and when he does rear, i really get the impression its his way of going "well if I rear and take off, i don't have to do circles" . Riding wise he's fine, until you tell him he can't do something, then he tries to rear. I've started riding him in a tie down because Im not risking getting flipped over on, bailing will reinforce his rearing, and it discourages him from going up.